Dates of the year challenge – September update

4 10 2010

Yes! I managed to find a cache on every empty date in September. So far, so good but from now on it is going to get much harder. Why? Most of the empty spots are in the winter months and here in Sweden that is synonymous with lots of snow and lack of daylight. To this I have to add that with a few exceptions the nearest caches are about 60 plus km away from both my home and my office which means a 2hr round trip on every caching excursion, so careful planning is going to be the order of the day.

Caches found on every date in May through September

It’s really satisfying to see that I have now found caches on every date of the months May through September, considering that when I started the challenge I had not found caches on every date in even one month. October is theoretically the same as September, ten caches to find. Two caches have been published nearby in the last few days, one only 700m away from home, so I am saving those for the wet days when I don’t have the time or energy for a long drive.

The first cache to be found in October was on a date where I had already found 32 caches so not one to count for the challenge. It was however a memorable cache, both for the location and for the way in which I succeeded in finding the cache. Without giving too much away I can say that the cache was located several meters above ground level and the easy way to get there was a 700m walk along a wooden walkway by the water channel that ran across a lake at this point. I admit to being lazy and drove up to GZ only to find that I was on the ground but the cache wasn’t. 😦 The only way up was by climbing and that meant hauling myself up onto a beam 2.5m above ground and then up onto the walkway. Not an easy feat and I have the aches and pains to prove it.

The cache was up there and I was down below

Actions

Information




