NZ North Island earthcaches

24 01 2011

Although I had not planned to focus on looking for earthcaches, my travels around the North Island gave me several opportunities to find earthcaches that I could not miss as I find geology to be an interesting subject.

The earthcaches all involved some form of observation or measurement ranging from taking the temperature of a stream to experiments to determining the density of lumps of pumice and estimating height changes before and after earthquakes.

All seem to request a photo of the cacher with GPS to prove that the person logging the find had actually been there. So bear with me as you scroll down this blog. There were quite a number of earthcaches in the Taupo region that I was able to log:
Rocks that float

Density experiment with pumice

Rubik’s Rock

Posing in front of Rubik's Rock

Caldera Lake

DS8300 on a windswept Lake Taupo shore

Wonderstuff’s Wonderland – The Sequel

Amongst the earthcaches I also found a traditional cache at an interesting geological spot. I spent ages watching the mud bubble. Really fascinating.

Boiling mud

The Mighty “Flowing Water”
HUKA FALLS

Earthcaching in the sun (HUKA FALLS)

Volcanoes and Earthquakes
The Power of Steam
Wonderstuff’s Wonderland
Hot Pools Earthcache

Hot pools in Rotorua


Pohaturoa Rock
After the stop in Whakatane where the Pohaturoa Rock is located the weather deteriorated and I had to take photos of myself and various other earthcaching items in pouring rain.

Lake Tutira

Earthcaching in the rain (Lake Tutira)

Napier Earthquake

The Wellington Fault

Clear indication of the Wellington fault's displacement


It’s our Fault
Ancient Beaches
Ta Puna Wai Ora (The Spring of Life)

Ta Puna Wai Ora (Spring of Life)

So in a week of geocaching I found 65 caches including the oldest one in the country, a Wherigo cache and a whole bunch of Earthcaches. They were really fun as they were all in places of either natural beauty or with a geological feature that was exciting. What immediately springs to mind are the pools of either boiling water or mud. The earthcaches are educational although at times I thought they were often time consuming and I could have been out hunting for numbers. Then, I thought again and realised that the holiday was about relaxation after all.

Actions

Information




