Creative caches

9 04 2014

I spent a long weekend in England visiting my brothers and their families. It’s been quite a time since I got over from Sweden but I finally made it. As there are thousands of caches to choose from some kind of filtering was needed in order to get a good geocaching experience for both them and for me. One family geocaches, the other doesn’t but willingly take me out to places of interest that I can combine with geocaching.

Half of Team “zelger”, the ones interested in geocaching, had proposed that we went for quality rather than quantity and arrived at roughly the same list of traditional caches with lots of favourite points that I did. I also noted that there were a few earthcaches and letterbox hybrids that I found interesting. For a number of reasons we settled on a Friday morning out with just one cacher’s caches on our list. They were all close to Wokingham and all had a good number of favourite points. The hider was “JJEF” and the caches were all innovative. Normally I don’t limit my caching in this way so today was a good exception. The caches are listed below in the order we did them but the photographs are mixed up. JJEF is quite happy with me showing them as they don’t point to each specific cache.

Twin Lanes Trail W1
Twin Lanes Trail W2
Twin Lanes Trail W3
Twin Lanes Trail N2
Twin Lanes Trail N3
Twin Lanes Trail N4
Twin Lanes Trail N1
Folly At The Ford
Kerplunk
Magnetic Attraction
WriggleStick

These are the JJEF caches we found.

These are the JJEF caches we found.

I can definitely say that this was an exceptionally good geocaching experience and would recommend these caches to anyone who is in the area. Our afternoon was quite different as the theme changed to letterbox hybrids.

Nope, try again. Not in this hole so where is it?

Nope, try again. Not in this hole so where is it?

A tool on each side to wiggle the cache out of the tube

A tool on each side to wiggle the cache out of the tube

Lots of dowels and a cache in a tube.

Lots of dowels and a cache in a tube.

Balance an air pump and yourself over the fetid water and hope for the best.

Balance an air pump and yourself over the fetid water and hope for the best.

zelger would never have done this but I thought it was great!

zelger would never have done this but I thought it was great!

Guide this rod up a tube.

Guide this rod up a tube.

Pinball! Three of us had fast enough reactions to grab the cache as it popped up.

Pinball! Three of us had fast enough reactions to grab the cache as it popped up.

A neat way to keep little fingers out. A screw is needed to remove the block.

A neat way to keep little fingers out. A screw is needed to remove the block.

Wind the handle and the cache appears like magic

Wind the handle and the cache appears like magic

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 04 2014
JJEF

JJEF Here giving a Thumbs Up and I hope you had a great time in my neck of the woods 🙂

9 04 2014
ds8300

Thank you for all the great caches and the permission to post the photos.




