Värmland

21 07 2014

For quite some time my partner has talked about making a trip to visit friends in Kil, which lies in Värmland – a county in the west of Sweden. They had not met for quite some time and none of them ever seemed to be able to get started on the 370km drive. Their names came up again on Thursday so I said OK tomorrow we are doing it and got a hotel booked in Karlstad. We started our drive on Friday evening after I had finished work for the day and gone home and packed. There are several routes between Gävle and Karlstad and the one we chose was via Avesta, Fagersta, Lindesberg, Örebro then the E18 straight through to Karlstad.

We stopped in Norberg on the way so I could find an elusive cache. I have looked on two previous visits for Elsa Anderssons konditori. On the first attempt I used my GPS and on the second my iPhone. Both took me to completely different places about 30 m apart. I heard from one of my geocaching friends in Gävle that they had visited the cafe and quickly found the cache. Of course, I asked where and on this time it was a simple find – in a place I had not searched in that was half way between the places i searched in previously. Duh!

We then continued on non-stop to Karlstad so we could check into our hotel. We arrived at 10 pm and more or less crashed. As the goal for the journey was to visit people I wasn’t really expecting to find so many caches. Naturally I had made a PQ over the caches in the Karlstad area and loaded my GPS with all them all barring the mystery caches.

Most of the day was spent with my partner’s friends in Kil, but it included at drive over to Borgvik where there is an old ironworks and a culture house where there was an exhibition they wanted to see. It included photographs from Lennart Nilsson. Rather than write and include photos I took, I will just link to this blog. It’s worth reading.

Borgvik's blast furnace ruins.

Borgvik’s blast furnace ruins.

Tank barriers in Borgvik.

Tank barriers in Borgvik.

Information about the fortifications in the area from WWII.

Information about the fortifications in the area from WWII.

In return to being taken to an interesting place I took them geocaching for the first time in their lives. Borgviks kyrka. It was received with mixed reactions so I can’t see them running off in the future caching on their own.

From there we returned to Kil where we found Apertins Kapell at the chapel of the same name as the cache, where I swapped a geocoin I had been carrying around for a few weeks with another one. That gave me the borough of Kil.

A fantastic mossy wall all round the Apertin chapel.

A fantastic mossy wall all round the Apertin chapel.

A thunderstorm was breaking on the horizon so we hurried on over to Forshaga in order to grab God-Helg and a cache in the borough of Forshaga. We got there just as the skies opened.

Merry Christmas in neon lights at Forshaga

Merry Christmas in neon lights at Forshaga

As there was no point in hunting for more caches we returned to Karlstad where the sun came out and enabled us to have dinner outdoors at one of the many restaurants that there seem to be in the centre of town. On the way to dinner we picked up Karlstads Domkyrkan so Karlstad’s borough was also secured.

Karlstad town hall and square in the evening after the storm.

Karlstad town hall and square in the evening after the storm.

On the Sunday we visited my daughters mother in law who lives in Karlstad before starting our journey home. We even managed a quick trip to Mariabergskogen

We're just friends. The baby crow seems to have an identity crisis.

We’re just friends. The baby crow seems to have an identity crisis.

This must a a “wabbit” judging by it’s size.

and a shopping centre before leaving for home. Just to vary the route we chose to drive through Filipstad, Ludvika, Falun on our way to Gävle. From the geocaching perspective I found only five caches over the weekend but in four new boroughs.

As I have an APRS setup in my car it’s possible to see in real time where my car is (if the radio is on).

APRS trace from our drive home.

APRS trace from our drive home.

Actions

Information




