A mixed fortnight

18 08 2014

The last couple of weeks have been quiet for me in terms of hunting for geocaches despite this being August and still a summer month. I have spent some time in my workshop preparing new geocaches that I will place out in the wild soon. Perhaps the energizer for me to go out hunting was the possibility to gain eight new souvenirs from Groundspeak although at the beginning of the month I had only realized that there were seven available. I missed the fact that International Geocaching day is on 16th August.

Anyway, as the month started I had already solved a couple of mystery caches in Gävle that I then went out and logged – Prickar and IQ-test which gave me the The Puzzler souvenir plus a cool traditional cache The Elevator that gave me The Explorer souvenir. I was able to take a lunch break a few days later and find a letterbox hybrid which was luckily not so far from my office – Åshammar Letterbox Hybrid and gained The Collector souvenir thus giving me half the number of souvenirs that Groundspeak was promoting in August. I think I then realized that it wouldn’t be too hard to find the remaining three, but it wouldn’t be for a few more days.

Luck was on my side as my partner and I were in Hille, just north of Gävle, one day and I “noticed” that there was a nearby multicache. No sooner said than done and Sagas milstolpe was visited and The Sightseer souvenir was gained. That was on 12th August.

Finally on 16th August I got out to hunt for the final two type of cache that qualified me for The Nature Lover souvenir and The Socializer souvenir. Of course, when the sixth souvenir was gained it also unlocked the seventh souvenir – The Achiever. Something that is new for Groundspeak is that they also show you what number you were to gain the final souvenir. I’m not sure I like it, but for some competitive people it will push them to get out and, well, achieve.

My Saturday trip took me to Avesta where I stopped to have a look at an earthcache at Döda Fallen. I have passed by the turn off to the old industrial area of Avesta near the falls many times but never had the time to stop and explore. This time I did and found both Avesta’s old industrial area and also the old town. Unfortunately as I needed to push on to Litet augustievent i Säter” I didn’t have time to stop and explore the area nor hunt for the caches in the area. One cache – Koppardalen Underground is on my “want to do” list but it will have to be in the company of other cachers. The starting point is near here.

Old ironmaking buildings in Koppardalen

Old ironmaking buildings in Koppardalen

So what do the “dead falls” look like? Pretty dead, but it was interesting to read about their formation.

The dead falls in Avesta

The dead falls in Avesta

It’s about 35 km between Avesta and Säter so I arrived at the event not long after it started. There were already a good twenty people there, some known to me and a greater number that were not. As it usual there was a lot of meeting and greeting and a good selection of TB’s and geocoins to look at. Not long before I left, WVBuss, Knatos and others turned up having been to the Geocoin och TB-fest in Haga Park Stockholm. With them they had a pile of geocoins for us to log. Nice.

The six souvenirs

The six souvenirs

The bonus souvenir

The bonus souvenir

It was only after logging the caches and the trackables that I realized that it was International Geocaching Day and I gained the eighth souvenir. Great!

International Geocaching Day 2014

International Geocaching Day 2014

Actions

Information




