Årsunda

9 09 2014

On Saturday morning we pointed the car in the direction of Söderhamn and the airforce museum on the site of the squadron F15 that was closed in 1998. The reason for the trip was to spend an hour in the Viggen flight simulator. Viggen simulator The experience was a real adrenalin kick, extremely realistic and something I would recommend to anyone interested in planes. As we had commitments to meet relatives and friends in Söderhamn there were no opportunities for geocaching.

Nonetheless, I did a park and grab on the way home at Sörbränning and was able to save the day. What day, you may ask? Just for fun, and as a challenge with my brother I will try to fill in round two of the cache a day challenge. i.e. find a cache on every date in the year. As I have already done that I decided that I should have a go at getting a minimum of two finds per day. As we get closer to winter there are quite a number of dates where I have just one find and in a typical Swedish winter caching can be a challenge.

On Sunday I was busy with rally communications on Sandviken Motorklubb’s rally “Stålsvängen”. It was just a two stage rally close to Årsunda but was quite an adventure from a radio point of view as there were a few technical issues with one of the operators and unfortunately an accident on the stage. It was not too serious but delayed the competition by over an hour. As the event came to a close I idly looked at my GPS and saw that there were three caches close by that I had not noticed before so of course I just had to visit them.

As is usual for Sweden there are road all over the place in the forests, and along some of them are really interesting areas. My short excursion on such a road out of Årsunda was one of those occasions.

All three caches were placed by the same owner InFlejms and were well worth visiting. The first cache was Sågmursgruvan. This is an old iron ore mine with rich deposits of zinc and lead.

Spoil heaps from the Sågmur mine

Spoil heaps from the Sågmur mine

For those of you who are more interested in this mine the following scan has been taken from “De Mellansvenska Järnmalmernas Geologi, av Per Geijer och Nils H. Magnusson. 1944.

Geijer & Magnusson skriver om Sågmyrgruvan

Geijer & Magnusson skriver om Sågmyrgruvan

The second cache was at the entrance to Lisselåsklack nature reserve with the interesting name of Pentagon. I realize why until I got there and even then I wasn’t 100% convinced that it was justified. There was a little open shelter at GZ with a sign saying “Pentagon” so it was clear why the cache had that name. Why the place was called Pentagon was not so clear. The shelter was hexagonal so that can’t have been the reason. I didn’t have time to stop and explore the nature reserve but I will try to get back and bring the family and picnic with me.

Maybe it's local humour to call a hexagonal building "Pentagon"

Maybe it’s local humour to call a hexagonal building “Pentagon”

Lisselåsklakc nature reserve is on a shingle field - remains from the ice age

Lisselåsklakc nature reserve is on a shingle field – remains from the ice age

I suspect that the third cache at Barbergsåsens klapperstensfält was probably the source of the name for the previous cache. Or perhaps there are more artifacts lurking around in the forests that lead to the name Pentagon?

The Barbergsåsen shingle field

The Barbergsåsen shingle field


After finding the third cache I continued on to Trösken then took the main road back through Årsunda towards home.

Actions

Information




