Billudden

20 10 2014

Again my geocaching activities have gone down to a low level. I have been full of cold for ages and hardly had energy enough to keep working. When I get home from work, all I want to do is sleep. As a consequence this post is delayed. Finally, last weekend I felt up to getting out in the fresh air with the motivator being a new geocaching souvenir for Earthcaching Day 2014. My partner and I packed a rucksack with a picnic and set off on the 20 km or so drive to Billudden, a moraine spit into the sea to the east of Gävle. Just before we got to our parking spot I stopped and grabbed Follow the road, a quick park ‘n’ grab cache.

Signboard at the start of the nature reserve

Signboard at the start of the nature reserve

There weren’t too many people at Rullsand when we arrived but during the time we were on the spit we met quite a few people walking or biking. It was autumn weather and the colours in the forest were mostly darker hues of brown and green with odd highlights of other colours.

They definitely look poisonous

They definitely look poisonous

href=”https://ds8300.files.wordpress.com/2014/10/billuddensvamp1.jpg”>A tree loving toadstool of some kind A tree loving toadstool of some kind[/caption]

Some trees were completely covered in toadstools of some kind

Some trees were completely covered in toadstools of some kind

We made a detour from the main track along Billudden to find A piece of paradise where we also decided that we would eat our picnic. It was in a sheltered spot where even the dragonflies made an appearance, one even landing on my arm long enough for me to take a photo. I’m not sure when I last visited the area but I do know I was here in 2004 & 2005, hunting for the caches that were here at that time. They are now archived.

A dragonfly landed on my arm

A dragonfly landed on my arm

From there we continued on to the main target for the day which was Stentorget på Billudden where we stumbled up and down and across the shingle field making an estimate of it’s size and counting the levels. As well as being able to log an interesting earthcache this also gave me a new souvenir for my collection.

Shingle field on Billudden

Shingle field on Billudden

Earthcaching souvenir

Earthcaching souvenir

That done we continued on to the end of Billudden where we were able to log Billudden and stop for another cup of coffee before starting the walk back to the car. Rather than just drive home we took a detour through Långsand were I was surprised at how many summer cottages and year round houses there were. We stopped to grab Olovsson on our way through Gårdskär and back home to Gävle.

Actions

Information




