Gästrikeleden

25 11 2014

Geocaches placed along walking trails as opposed to those on power trails are something that I enjoy hunting. The combination of the goal of finding a cache and the exercise that the trail gives is a great combination. In the part of Sweden that I live in is a trail that goes round a large part of the county, called Gästrikleden. It’s somewhere in the region of 270 km long and is mostly located in forest land. More information can be found here. As well as general information, map data can be obtained in different file formats.

The red line is the 270+ km Gästrikleden that goes round most of the county of Gästrikland.

The red line is the 270+ km Gästrikleden that goes round most of the county of Gästrikland.

Over the years I have walked along parts of the trail, mostly on the eastern side but I have not seen so much of the western part of the trail. It was, therefore, interesting to see that SE-81293 who is an enthusiastic placer of caches had placed a series of caches along the trail. Unfortunately, I seem to have been busy doing other things every weekend since they were placed so I haven’t visited them until now. Actually, that’s not quite true as I found a single cache last weekend when I was visiting Broberget to scout out a place for a new cache. More of that later.

After a night of light snowfall my partner and I finally made the trip out to part of the trail that was accessible from just north of Storvik. Unfortunately, we only had 90 minutes available before needing to head back to Gävle to watch one of the grandchildren play ice hockey. So even if I had planned a day out on the trail other late incoming priorities changed the plans.
My idea was to park and then hunt for GL3 #B02, #B03 and #B04 thus meeting up with #B05 that I found last week. After that we would backtrack and hunt for caches to the south of our parking place.

A typical cache found on the trail

A typical cache found on the trail

Snow on the heather by the side of the trail

Snow on the heather by the side of the trail

Each of the caches has a code that is needed to solve the stage mystery caches. Of course, I forgot to take a note of the code in the first cache but as we had to go back past it I could grab it then. We got back to the starting spot and realized that time was getting short so were only able to find GL3 #B01 and GL3 #A40 then grab a quick cup of coffee and a sandwich before heading back to Gävle and Nynäsvallen where we watched a close match. It was fun to note that there were still chanterelles growing where we stopped to eat, even if they were frozen.

We stopped close by for a cup of coffee and a sandwich

We stopped close by for a cup of coffee and a sandwich

It’s quite clear that there will be a few return trips to finish off the series but it’s always fun to get out and walk the trail.

Actions

Information




