Akaroa

11 01 2015

I have already started to lose track of time since I left Sweden on January 2. Now on January 10 I had the opportunity to get a lift to Akaroa and back with one of my NZ friends. Akaroa is a French settlement in the midst of this British heritage island as is seen by all the French shop, restaurant and road names. It is located in the eroded crater of a six million year old shield volcano and is about 80 km from Christchurch. I know because I visited Akaroa Volcano (Canterbury) on the way back to Christchurch.

Akaroa location in relation to Christchurch

Akaroa location in relation to Christchurch

I had about three hours to kill and that seemed plenty of time to find the six caches in the town and eat the well known Akaroa fish ‘n’ chips. In the past they have been great but this time the batter on the excellent blue cod was a bit soggy which downgraded the experience.

It was a glorious day and the temperature was a good 30C which made itself known on the walk up the hill behind Akaraoa. I started my walk at Jack of all Caches (Canterbury) which was situated by the old lighthouse.

Akaroa lighthouse

Akaroa lighthouse

From there on my walk to the fish ‘n’ chip shop I DNF’d two caches along the waterfront road that seemed to have been muggled judging by the number of DNF logs.

An old shady seat where there should have been a cache

An old shady seat where there should have been a cache

After my meal I started walking uphill to the very appropriately named street

then on further to the top of Stanley Park for Stanley Park, Akaroa (Canterbury) and some great views over the bay.

The sign says it all

The sign says it all

The view over Akaroa and the bay from Stanley Park

The view over Akaroa and the bay from Stanley Park

On the way back to Christchurchwe stopped at the earthcache.

Rock patterns at the centre of the volcano cone

Rock patterns at the centre of the volcano cone

Migmatie dyke at the centre of Akaroa volcano

Migmatie dyke at the centre of Akaroa volcano

This was followed by a couple of challenge caches, Plane Challenging – 30 Earth Cache finds and Plane Challenging – 75 TBs Discovered/Logged on Birdlands Flats where the small flies were a real pain. Both caches had little planes stuck to them, hence the name I guess. Following that a quick visit was made to Silly Sausage – Stone grill letterbox (Canterbury), a letterbox hybrid cache.

Silly Sausage Letterbox-hybrid cache

Silly Sausage Letterbox-hybrid cache

After that we went back to Christchurch and a quiet evening sitting outside in the sun enjoying a simple meal and a cold beer.

Actions

Information




