A mixed bag in Canterbury

21 01 2015

After my trip to Nelson I spent a further week and a half in Christchurch where the time just seemed to float on by. That’s a good sign of a relaxing vacation I guess. looking back at my stats in GSAK I see that I managed to find 94 caches and hold an event of my own during that time. What I didn’t do was take as many photographs of a wide range of subjects as I could have.

Halswell Quarry to the south of Chrictchurch is where most of the building material for the city came in those days when buildings were made from stone. these days it’s all steel or reinforced concrete. I have been there a few times before and found a few caches including the clever yet Ifrustrating “Aloha, sonny”. Unfortunately, for purely smartphone users, I very much doubt that they will be able to solve the mystery. There is also an interesting earthcache here and a number of other simple trads. I found two new caches that both contained food which can be a problem of course, both from the point of attracting wild animals but also just because mould can setg in. I removed the food and left a note on the cache page. I assume it was a novice that had done it in all good faith.

Halswell Quarry

Halswell Quarry

I also spent a day in the centre of the city, not hunting for caches as most of them have been disabled or archived due to the destruction of the buildings by the two major earthquakes that hit Christchurch, but just to try to orient myself. It was really hard as no landmarks remain. Basically all there is are empty plots of land, some remains and new building sites. There have been some enterprising artists who have been allowed to adorn the remaining concrete walls with colourful murals of all shapes and sizes. The pictures can speak for themselves.

DSCN4637

DSCN4638

DSCN4639

DSCN4641

DSCN4642

DSCN4645

DSCN4646

DSCN4647

DSCN4648

DSCN4649

DSCN4653

DSCN4655

DSCN4656

DSCN4657

DSCN4659

DSCN4663

DSCN4664

DSCN4618

DSCN4624

DSCN4625

DSCN4626

DSCN4627

DSCN4628

DSCN4629

DSCN4630

DSCN4632

DSCN4633

DSCN4634

DSCN4636

The next day I went for a 25 km walk that allowed me to collect all the caches on the Southern motorway plus a dozen or so more and get 100 caches in total for that date. The reason being that I needed the numbers for a challenge at home in Sweden. Most of the caches on the route were standard micros but Squelch! stood out. In the words of Head Hard Hat, “poke it with a stick”, was good advice. Once I got to the end of the motorway I popped into a simple cafe called “Cafeine” and drank the best cup of coffee I have had in Christchurch. Period. So if you are ever at the junction of Lincoln Road and Curletts road drop in and tell them who sent you.

Cafeine on Lincoln Road

Cafeine on Lincoln Road

I held my event 10 years of caching in New Zealand on Sunday 25th January and was pleased at the turn out. Bald Ed was one of the first cachers I met in New Zealand and have bumped into him several times over the years. I also met some other familiar faces and new cachers. Great fun.I spent the morning prior to the event hunting for caches in the Cashmere are of town. Most notable was The power of the moon. (Canterbury) . I expected a crawl up a culvert when I looked at the cache location on Google Maps. Luckily, such was not the case and I can understand why it had 40 favourite points.

My last busy geocaching day in Canterbury consisted of a run out to Oxford. On my map I had dozens of caches in the “Lolly Scramble” running the whole way along the South Eyre Road and the “Fruit (& Vege) Loop” series around Eyreton, but for some reason I had managed to filter out half of them when I did my GPS upload from GSAK. Both were really fun series as they all had interesting containers either in the form of fruit and vegetables or sweet containers, that gave me a few chuckles along the way

Fun cache series between Kaiapoi and Oxford: Lolly Scramble and Fruit (&veges)

Fun cache series between Kaiapoi and Oxford: Lolly Scramble and Fruit (&veges)

The finale for the day, was a little detour through Kaiapoi to see how it is recovering from the earthquakes and to visit Rabbit Revenge. This is a cache with 69 favourite points and again in the words of Head Hard Hat, “poke it with a stick”!

Actions

Information




