5000 finds milestone

26 01 2015

Well, I finally made it!

After more than 11 years of geocaching the counter finally ticked up to 5000.

As with my other milestones the cache was nothing special and I didn’t even know it was No 5000 until I started logging my finds in the evening of January 26, 2015. I was out in the countryside north of Christchurch following a line of caches between Eyreton and Oxford that were in a series with the name “Lolly Scramble”, then on the second part of the loop a series called “Fruit (& vege)”. They were all themed caches where the containers were a little different to the usual film canister. Looking back I believe that I had put a filter into GSAK that was something along the lines of “if the cache hasn’t been found in the past month ignore it”. Whatever it was, half of the caches in the Lolly Scramble series didn’t turn up on my GPS’r.

Kaiapoi to Oxford and all the missed caches in the Lolly Scramble series

Kaiapoi to Oxford and all the missed caches in the Lolly Scramble series


What that meant was that my 5000th find was not one in the Lolly Scramble series but an older cache A place for bunnies (Canterbury)

One cache later and it would have been The Lunch Stop Motel (Canterbury) which was a huge well decorated TB Hotel.

TB Hotel Lunch Stop Motel

TB Hotel Lunch Stop Motel

Anyway, I will reward myself with a new geoachievement coin as I have done in the past at previous milestones.

5000 finds geocachievement coin and pin

5000 finds geocachievement coin and pin

Actions

Information

4 responses

11 02 2015
washknight

Congrats on your milestone 🙂

11 02 2015
ds8300

Thank you! It feels like a more important milestone than the other “thousands”. Next big one is at 10,000. Let’s hope that doesn’t take eleven years. 🙂

11 02 2015
bandlengstrom

Grattis till den 5000:e loggningen.

11 02 2015
ds8300

Tackar! SĂĄg nu att ni har passerat 10000 cacher efter bara tre ĂĄr. Imponerande!




