Fire

4 02 2015

Not quite geocaching, but as I was relaxing on my last day in New Zealand I heard a number of helicopters overhead. It didn’t attract my interest at first as I am staying quite near to the airport.

It’s been a very hot day with really strong winds blowing in from the northwest which always increases the risk that any small fires that start become rather large very quickly.

What made me react was the smell of smoke and that got me moving.What was happening was that a large grassfire had started just a few hundred meters away and the helicopters were in action trying to put it out. They were collecting water from the minute swimming pool at Gilbertthorpe school just across the road.

Rough area of fire

Rough area of fire

Smoke from grass fire

Smoke from grass fire

Helicopter collecting water from school swimming pool

Helicopter collecting water from school swimming pool

Swimming pool that helicopters collected water from

Swimming pool that helicopters collected water from

Apparently 2 homes were burnt down and 100 homes evacuated. Now at 16:30 local NZ time all seems to be under control.

Actions

Information




