JJEF circuits

24 04 2015

Spring is here and a visit to England was on the cards. I was last there in April 2014 and discovered a number of highly creative caches close to where my brother lives in Berkshire, a county lying to the west of London. So once again team “zelger”, (my brother and his wife) and I went out into the nearby countryside to pick up som more JJEF caches.

We started off mid-morning on a bright and sunny day by following the small circuit trail Shurlock Stroll, where zelger had already visited the five caches in the series. They had a good chuckle watching me struggle with the first cache. When they did it there was no water in the stream. I had to hang over the water and not fall in. Three of the remaining caches had been “reboxed” so it was a new experience for them to find the caches again after their initial finds last year.

We took a clockwise walk around Shurlock Stroll starting at the question mark

We took a clockwise walk around Shurlock Stroll starting at the question mark

Part of the path with flowering hawthorn all over the place

Part of the path with flowering hawthorn all over the place

Wild primroses

Wild primroses

We decided to eat lunch before going on to Hogoak Lane and this where England beats Sweden every time. We ate a simple yet tasty lunch together with a glass of real ale sitting in the garden of the pub situated in Shurlock Row.

Lunch. I had eaten half before I decided to take the photo

Lunch. I had eaten half before I decided to take the photo

The pub in Shurlock Row

The pub in Shurlock Row

The caches on Hogoak Lane are spread over a walk of two or three kilomters of lovely undulating fields and woodland surroundings with good views of the countryside.

We made an anti-clockwise circuit of Hogoak Lane

We made an anti-clockwise circuit of Hogoak Lane

The woods were full of bluebells

The woods were full of bluebells


In addition to the caches on Hogoak Lane there were a few other caches by JJEF and other cachers on our route. Without identifying them individually here are a couple of examples.

A box with a fun locking solution

A box with a fun locking solution

Solve the code and open the lock

Solve the code and open the lock

You hid it where?

You hid it where?

Natural camoflague

Natural camoflague

I will replicate a couple of the boxes and place them on my Hemlingby Trail series but probably not using wood as it tends to swell and distort when exposed to weather over a long period. I have started to use marine plywood but have heard that there is some man-made decking material that is a better alternative.

The day after our stroll half of team zelger and I paid a trip to Bletchley Park, on which the film “The Imitation Game” was based.

Actions

Information

One response

27 04 2015
Bletchley Park | Geocaching with DS8300

[…] My trip to England was a busy one. I arrived late on Saturday evening so not a lot was done that evening, then Sunday was spent at the Imperial War Museum in Duxford with my brothers and nephews, after all, it was a “boy’s day out”. Monday was spent with team zelger caching in the area around Wokingham, Berkshire. See post JJEF circuits […]




