A weekend trip

1 09 2015

EstoniaFlag
How many of you recognised the flag immediately? Estonia is one of the Baltic states and the closest to me. It’s common in Sweden to take a cruise to either Tallinn or Riga but I find sitting on the ships boring and prefer to fly to most destinations. If I lived in a more central country in Europe I would take the train more often but that’s not so convenient from where I live.

We arrived in Tallinn on Friday afternoon and made the five minute walk to our nearby hotel. I had looked at hotels in the city centre but they were much more expensive and were not as comfortable. The busses from the airport run to the city centre every fifteen minutes so it wasn’t a hardship being 3 km away from the centre. In fact, the weather was pretty good so we walked into and out of the city a couple of times. Of course, that gave me an opportunity to find a couple of caches out of the city centre.

Our previous visit to Tallinn was in early 2004 and I don’t think that there were more than a couple of caches placed in the city at that time. The earliest I can find is from mid 2004, but it wasn’t in the city centre. Even now there are not a huge number of caches but combined with sightseeing they make for an enjoyable weekend.

On Saturday morning we took the bus into the city centre and a few minutes later the cache at Old Thomas / Vana Toomaswas in my hand. This is a cache with 185 favourites and understandably so.

Raekoja plats

Raekoja plats

Log book for Old Thomas

Log book for Old Thomas

Old Thomas - spot the cache

Old Thomas – spot the cache

From there we meandered along the historic cobbled streets passing by Pikajala/ Long leg but not stopping due to the guy standing right at GZ selling haymarket art. At this point we were mostly sightseeing as there are not so many caches right in the centre of the old town.

Which road shall we take?

Which road shall we take?

Once we chose the right road we left the old town and headed for the railway station andVarjusurnute/The living dead. As I neared GZ I wondered how on earth I would be able to find a cache inside a building. Would the GPS reception through me off? Would there be too many muggles? Was there a guardian of the cache that I would need to speak to? My GPS pointed to an entrance into the building. Toilets. Now how fun was this going to be? The arrow on the GPS and the distance meter took me out of the building on the other side amongst a myriad number of fruit stalls. OK, hold my breath and venture back into the dark. Suddenly I spotted an anomaly at the end of the corridor and yes there it was! Not at all as difficult as I had feared.

Baltijaam Market

Baltijaam Market

GC5CBXP Living Dead - not quite a spoiler

GC5CBXP Living Dead – not quite a spoiler

From there we passed by L-2317 where I was fearing an magnetic micro but found a regular cache and a perfect hint before returning to town and a well earned beer at Hopner, a pub/restaurant claiming to have over 200 different beers. The Barley Wine was excellent!

A refreshing break from caching

A refreshing break from caching

At Eve/Hämarik I met puczmeloun from the Czech Republic and we jointly found the cache there. It’s always fun to meet other geocachers out in the field.

On Sunday we again wandered down to the centre and added another five caches to the found list. The first one was on the way B.B.B. – Best Baltic Bus (Tallinn) and just as I was putting it back the skies opened and it poured. Just a few minutes earlier the skies were clear.

Old restored bus close to BBB

Old restored bus close to BBB

From Tompeaa which is the high part of Tallinn and the site of St Mary’s Cathedral and Aleksander Nevski Cathedral, I took a couple of photos and compared them with those I took in 2004. Apart from the difference in weather the skyline has changed as well.

View over Tallin old town 2015

View over Tallin old town 2015

View over Tallinn old town 2004

View over Tallinn old town 2004

The little old lady outside the Aleksander Nevski Cathedral was there in 2004 as well.

Old lady outside Aleksander Nevski Cathedral 2015

Old lady outside Aleksander Nevski Cathedral 2015

The same old lady outside Aleksander Nevski Cathedral 2004

The same old lady outside Aleksander Nevski Cathedral 2004

From Toopeaa we wandered down to the National Library passing by Johan Pitka where we spent a long time searching for a magnetic nano. It was great when it came into my sight.

Johan Pitka - a magnetic nano - quite a hunt

Johan Pitka – a magnetic nano – quite a hunt

In all I found nine caches and can claim Estonia as the thirty-ninth country where I have found caches.

Actions

Information




