Evening caching in Hallstahammar

4 04 2016

I had to visit Hallstahammar for work which involved an overnight stay for a change. Usually, I just make a day trip as it’s only a three hour trip from home. I created a PQ for the route between Fagersta and Hallstahammar, loaded it into GSAK and then sorted by favourite points. At the top of the list was Vandraren just off the main road south of Surahammar. It was just a short detour off my usual route so I spent the extra ten minutes to good cause. The cache was good but I’m not sure it was worth so many favourite points. However, that is subjective.

After working I checked into my hotel and then decided to go for a pre-dinner walk around the lake that is part of Strömholms canal. My first stop was at Hallsta Fornborg where I found the log book and pencil lying on the ground but no container. I pocketed them as I didn’t want to leave them there as they were in good condition indicating that the cache was probably muggled at the weekend. I then continued on to Skantzen – Kanalmuseum where exactly the same thing had happened. To find the caches the person(s) who trashed them must have access to geocaching.com to get the coords. Poor style. That’s being diplomatic. Again I took the log book with me and will mail it to the CO.

Brick building at Hallsta fornborg

Brick building at Hallsta fornborg

Lonely log book

Lonely log book

Continuing around the lake I found a nicely made cache at Skantzen Träbron followed by a film canister micro at Åsby, another cache owned by the CO with the two muggled caches. I was half expecting that to be gone as well, perhaps as part of a vendetta against the CO. I don’t think that’s the case though.

It was now getting quite cold and the walk gave me a good appetite so I went back to the hotel for dinner having only done half the multi Pliggholmen. I couldn’t count so broke off after the first WP. After dinner I recalculated and saw where I made my mistake. Now I know where I will be going after breakfast.

Noisy neighbours

Noisy neighbours

All I need now is these two birds to stop honking so I can get some sleep. They are right outside my hotel room window.

Actions

Information




