Stjärnsund

18 05 2016

If it hadn’t been pouring down and only 4 C I would have felt bad about missing the event “Vår tid i Hedemora” due to other non-geocaching commitments. My original intention was to participate in the event and then visit the three earthcaches in the area. As it turned out we were able to visit Stjärnsund on the Sunday and start the geocaching adventure with the earthcache Bergarter vid HK.

My GPS on a block of magnetite

My GPS on a block of magnetite

Once that was done I walked over the road and then down the steep hill to visit the four waypoints that the earthcache Högsta Kustlinjen – Husbyringen – EarthCache consists of. Between the 1st and 2nd point I paused briefly to log Husbyringen #71 Ditåt. Of course, those of you who know the area will realise that I drove past about twenty geocaches along the road from Stjärnsund – the Husbyringen series of caches. As my muggle partner was with me stopping every 200 m to grab a PET preform is not so popular.

At the highest point of the coastline

At the highest point of the coastline

Walking down from the highest point of the coastline

Walking down from the highest point of the coastline

Anyway, after the two earthaches we continued a couple of kilometers along the road to Stora Björktjärn where we stopped for coffee and a sandwich grabbing Husbyringen #80 Skylt at the same time. From there we walked up to the third earthcache on my to-do list which was Kustjärns Putta – EarthCache.

Kustjärns Putta

Kustjärns Putta

It was only when I was logging my finds that I discovered that I had been to the spot ten years ago to find The Ring # 6 Kustjärns Putta. It made me think. That was geocaching in a nutshell. Seven caches around the whole of the Husby ring. Now of course there are twenty times that number.

Our next port of call was Stjärnsund where we did a little sightseeing, visited the new farm shop and treated ourselves to a “tunnbröds rulle med extra allt” a thin chapatti like bread with a couple of hot dogs, mashed potatoes, fried onions and shrimp salad. I’m sure it must have been a healthy meal. 🙂 We started walking down to the brand new Stjärnljus series of caches eating our meal on the way, followed by the older Engelskaparken series.

Stjärnsund is of course known for it’s connection to Christopher Polhem who most Swedes are familiar with and have a more or less daily connection to as he is portrayed on the reverse of the 500 crown notes.

Stjärnsund after our visit

Stjärnsund after our visit

I would have liked to have done the Husbyringen PT but I will save that for another day when I won’t have any muggles with me.

Actions

Information




