Forest Gump

3 06 2016

The first day of June and what felt like the first day of summer – for real! 25 C in the shade and only a whisper of a breeze. Over the past few days I have been finding a few caches at a time of the 45 cache long power trail. “Från Stig till Stig“. Most could be reached by car but it wasn’t possible to drive directly from one end to the other. Some walking was needed. The trail to the east is Ugglestigen and has a further 59 caches. To the west are a couple of short trails, “Stigen i Skogen” with 14 caches and “Jäderfors Motionsspår” with just six caches. West of there you can find “JPT” (21 caches), “DonD” (27 caches), “ZGO” (39 caches), “TT” (15 caches) and “GL3” (presently at 55 caches but may either expand or be archived as the CO doesn’t get enough visitors). I for one have only found ten of them but plan to do the walk this summer as it is quite a long one along Gästrikeleden. In other words, plenty of opportunities to find PET preforms or bison tubes hanging in trees in the area. The links above are to the first cache in each series.

Anyway, I just had five caches remaining on the “Från Stig till Stig” trail and the opportunity to continue on walking and this is where I started to think about a forest gump (I seem to remember some film character having a similar name 🙂 ) . I planned to just do the Stigen i Skogen trail but realised that if I walked that far I might as well add on a few hundred meters to get to Jäderfors motionsspår and walk back that way to where I left the car.

Before my forest walk

Before my forest walk

After my forest walk

After my forest walk

What is not clearly evident from any of the geoaching maps is the presence or not of tracks. There are some clearly visible from aerial photos but most are not shown on top maps. I had no problems with the Stigen i Skogen series between #5 and #14 as the caches were placed along a forest road. When it came to Jäderfors Motionsspår things were a little different even though the track is quite evident and can be found on OSM maps. The main difference in the experience was probably mainly due to the swarms of mosquitoes that started to accompany me. When it came to Stigen i Skogen #1 to #4 the situation was a little different. In particular, the route between # 2 and #3 was interesting, to say the least. #3 is the cache at the northen end of the western trail and was in the middle of an overgrown clearing and the coords were spot on. It was just that to get there a wide stream had to be crossed. Luckily I found a fallen and somewhat rotten silver birch lying across the stream that I carefully edged my way over so I could continue on without getting wet feet.

Fallen tree across a stream

Fallen tree across a stream

From there I had to find my way east back towards my car which was to the far east of the shown trails and this is where the fun started. No paths of any kind for half the walk. Just jumping across tufts of grass in boggy bits and skirting inpenetrable areas in the company of a swarm of mosquitos. I managed to get back to the car with dry feet but I was yellow up to my knees from pollen. Before returning home I had to clean off at Landtjärnen. If I had taken coffee with me I would have stopped at the wind shelter for a while but I had to leave.

Landtjärnen

Landtjärnen

Actions

Information




