Husbyringen

25 07 2016

A couple of months ago we visited Stjärnsund where were enjoyed a walk around the lake collecting a handful of caches along the way. I said then that I would return during my summer vacation to do some of the power trails in the area. The most significant one after Dalälven PT (115 caches most of which I have done) is Husbyringen (111 caches) followed by VTIH16 (30 caches). Things didn’t work out as planned due to a bout of food poisoning that knocked me out for the last few days of my summer vacation, so my day in southern Dalarna didn’t occur until the weekend after my first week back at work.

We started at Husbyringen #30 as it was the first one we reached from our home in Gävle. I am pretty certain I have stopped here earlier on some geocaching trip to Hedemora or similar and signed the log but not logged it on the site. As there was a new log strip in the cache I couldn’t confirm that so it will just be one of those nagging thoughts that pops up in my mind from time to time.

PRESS STOP. Looking through my GSAK database of finds has solved the nag. On 2014-05-24 I found GC3RR6B Husbyringen by Knatos, now archived.

The first few caches were quickly logged before we made a detour from the PT to Silvehytteå and the canal. A perfect time to have a coffee break too. Silvhytteå canal joins the lakes Fullen and Grycken which formed part of an important water transport system between Edsken, Silvhytteå, Stjärnsund and Långshyttan during the heydays of iron making in the area.

Silver birches with nodules and the lake Fullen in the background

Silver birches with nodules and the lake Fullen in the background

Silvhytteå furnace

Silvhytteå furnace

Silvhytteå canal with passing boats

Silvhytteå canal with passing boats

There was plenty of activity in the locks during the time we were there. My first visit to Silvhytteå was probably around 2006-07-02 when I found GCWV8B The Ring # 4 Silfhytteå by ohrn, again long since archived.

So off again and towards Stjärnsund where we had planned to stop for lunch. The outdoor temperature was now in the high twenties and in the car over thirty as soon as I turned off the AC. Our lunch stop in Stjärnsund was to grab the “tunnbröds rulle med extra allt” that we ate on our last visit (It’s a thin chapatti like bread with a couple of hot dogs, mashed potatoes, fried onions and shrimp salad.)
It was apparently a market day so the place was swarming with muggles and the queue for food was long.

As soon as we could we left and continued on the trail as the temperature soared. It felt like the time we were on the ET Highway but more humid. We kept on until we reached Kloster where I last visited on 2006-07-02 to find GCWV8K The Ring # 7 Klosters krutbruk. So ten years on and I am revisiting Husbyringen, the main difference being the huge difference in the number of caches between then and now.

We decided when we reached Kloster than we had done enough and headed off to Långshyttan for an ice cream then home. I hope to get back soon and put a few more smilies on to the map.

Husbyringen is now about half done

Husbyringen is now about half done

Actions

Information




