KBT

9 08 2016

It all began about a month ago. A few caches on a new trail were published in Gävle in mid June, just before we went away on vacation to Iceland and as a consequence no hunt was made until we got back home. In fact, the six first caches in the series KBT (Kungsbäck Trail is my guess) were just about the only caches I found before we left for Jersey. In the beginning there were just a handful of caches on the trail but it has successively been expanded to that today there are forty caches and more anticipated.

Most of the dots are on the KBT trail

Most of the dots are on the KBT trail

So what’s special about this trail? Nothing as such except that I have visited the area six times so far and still have ten more caches left to find. Kungsbäck is a former military area and is more or less closed off to car traffic and demands the use of a bike or shanks’ pony to get around. I have been lazy and stopped by on my way home from work and grabbed a couple or three caches before continuing on.

On the geobike

On the geobike

I made an effort to find the remaining caches last week by grabbing the geobike and biking to Gävle Bro then in to the trail. I gave up the hunt as I neared the southern end of the trail and biked home due to the torrential rain that decided to visit the area. I don’t mind getting wet but what usually happens is that the log books get wet too and that’s no fun for the next hunter.

Nonetheless, the visits to the trail have been pleasant and I have seen some of the wild life. I nearly cycled over an adder somewhere after KBT-24 which was sunning itself on the track but when I stopped to take the photo it wriggled off into the grass.

An adder on the track

An adder on the track

As I was nearing KBT-25 I noticed a wooden gate in the bushes and because of my curiosity I stopped to see why. There was what seemed to be a man made pool about 10 x 20 m and a little jetty sticking out into it. Why? Who made it, when and what is it’s purpose? Anyone know?

A weird little pool. Anyone  know how it got there and why?

A weird little pool. Anyone know how it got there and why?

By now I still had many caches left to find so returned to Gävle Bro again the day after and this time on foot I looked for KBT-16 to KBT-9, only failing to find KBT-10. Of course, it was found the day after. Grr. As I was nearing KBT-9 where I turned around I saw a baby thrush on the track, and it was still there a few minutes later when I returned. I hope it’s parent was looking after it.

A baby thrush on the track

A baby thrush on the track

So guess what I am going to do after work today? I hope to be able to find KBT-31 to KBT-40. If I am lucky this could be drive in caching. If I am not it will be a 5 km walk.

Actions

Information




