Bike trail revisited

16 09 2016

Having to give up my drive around the Hammarby bike trail (link) because of a flooded road meant that I had a further dozen or so caches left to find. What better excuse for an after work cache run than that? I started with BT #038 and worked downwards in the series to start with.

The only challenge this time was if the tractor road between caches BT #032 and BT #036 would be usable by my Volvo. The ground clearance is not too brilliant. I was relieved to find that I could manouver around the rocks and pot holes the whole way with just one small scrape on something under the car. When I left the tractor road and got back to the larger road I could see that the flooding that had stopped me previously had just about disappeared.

The flood had abated

The flood had abated

I drove off to the east and rejoined the Gavelhytta – Årsunda road that I had left half an hour earlier and proceded on to BT #039 and upwards in the series. I enjoyed the break at the multi BT #045. I vaguely remember the old paper mill but it was interesting to see the memorial and read the dates when there was a mill there. It was early evening by now and the lake had a mirror like surface.

A mirror surface on the lake by the Hammarby paper mill

A mirror surface on the lake by the Hammarby paper mill

The final walk to cache BT #046 and then on to the bandstand through an avenue of mighty oaks was impressive.

An avenue of mighty oaks

An avenue of mighty oaks

The bandstand in Hammarby at the start of the bike trail

The bandstand in Hammarby at the start of the bike trail

All the caches were at good coordinates and some were visible from the road as I neared GZ. So I can now show the map with a full circle of smilies.

Completed trail

Completed trail

Actions

Information




