Jälla nature reserve

23 01 2017

This is the second year in a row when I have not travelled to New Zealand in January. The difference between those years I do and those I don’t is clearly reflected in my geocaching stats. In 2015 when I last visited NZ I found 258 caches in the month and in 2016 when I stayed at home I found a mere three caches in the same period. Terrible!. This year is somewhat better as I have found thirteen caches and the month is not over yet so there is a slight hope for improvement. I was in Uppsala last week and had a couple of hours of daylight to spare so I decided to hunt for some caches with many favourite points. My eye fell on “Råg” and as there were a few other caches nearby I decided to head out that way.

Plenty of caches to choose from

Plenty of caches to choose from

I parked at the entrance to Jälla nature reserve noting that the paths were icy but not thinking too much about it until I had slithered about 200 m up the road. I then remembered that I had slip on studs (broddar) in the car and had to consider if I should turn round and collect them or not. As my GPS showed 900 m to Råg I decided that it wasn’t worth the effort. I didn’t have any problems but in hindsight I would have easily made up the time it would have taken to go back to the car and the walk would have been safer. I made a mental note for next time.

The first cache I arrived at was Trollstigen 3 and access to this was through a gap in a fence, between two posts held together by a belt. The cache was in a stump in the middle of a clearing and easy to find. From there I walked on to Trollstigen 4 which was hidden behind a wind shelter in a construction that is quite common in Uppsala. All I need to say is that someone works for a ventilation company!

Wind shelter at Trollstigen 4

Wind shelter at Trollstigen 4

As I approached Råg I saw a man standing in the forest. not doing anything, just standing there. He didn’t say anything or even move as I approached the cache and he was still standing there when I left.

Man standing in the forest

Man standing in the forest

Some say he is John Steinbeck’s character – The Cacher in the Rye and some say he is just a shadow of Micke from Team_Ese.

A quick check of my GPS and the OSM map showed that it was only slightly longer for me to get back to the car if I followed the path/ski track back with the added bonus that I would pass by half a dozen caches on the way.

With the exception of one cache where the CO needs to do some maintenance all were found and all were in good condition. As I approached the car the sun was dropping down behind the trees and the temperature started to drop.

Sun setting behind the trees

Sun setting behind the trees

I had had a great walk and found some fun caches. It’s an area well suited to geocaches and I am sure I will be back later in the year to find more of the many that there are in the area. I made a brief stop on my way home at a rest area on the E4 called Tre Ängar. There I found a fun little cache.

Not quite visible in the photo is the obligatory phot of the king and queen

Not quite visible in the photo is the obligatory photo of the king and queen

Actions

Information




